Book Review: “Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving around the World” with Beth Moore, compiled by Kim P. Davis (2001)

As a former tent-maker now studying to become a full-time missionary, I fell in love immediately with this daily devotional written by and about missionaries. As I trudge through many textbooks on missions for school, I often hunger to remember what service is truly like on the front lines of a completely different culture where I struggle with the language, I live beyond my means, and I spend every day with people who don’t even know Jesus’ name. Voices of the Faithful reminds me of those times each day I read, and the insights I get from this book teach me again how to pray for missionaries. If you have ever considered ministering on the mission field but have found trials, finances and family prevent you from doing so, pick up a copy of this book and do the following: live vicariously a few minutes each day through the authors of these devotionals, and then apply what you learn to pray specifically by name for a missionary you support. God will bless you through the words of this book and the prayers that you pray infinitely more than regret ever could. If you have never gone or can never go, you can always pray. And Voices of the Faithful will help you to do so each and every day.

[Note: I received this book free for review from Thomas Nelson and Bookzneeze.com]

© 2010 E.T.

This entry was posted in Book Review, Devotional, Missions, Non-Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review: “Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving around the World” with Beth Moore, compiled by Kim P. Davis (2001)

  1. Ben Umnus says:

    I didn’t know you made tents. Was that when you were in the service?

    • The apostle Paul worked as a tent maker while doing missions work in order to support himself while he ministered. We use the same word today to describe a self-supporting missionary as opposed to one dependent on churches back home for financial support. I was a tent maker overseas when I taught English at a university while also serving as a missionary.

  2. Pingback: Book Review: “Voices of the Faithful: Book 2” by Beth Moore and Kim P. Davis (2010) | Elliot's Blog

Leave a Reply

