Book Review: “Money and Marriage: A Complete Guide for Engaged and Newly Married Couples” by Matt Bell (2011)

The term “financial peace” has been popularized by Dave Ramsey, his radio show and his Financial Peace University, but this idea stemming from a Christian perspective is certainly not unique with him. Matt Bell, also a personal financier, speaker and author, has organized in this fantastic read the steps necessary for financial peace within a relationship. Money and Marriage is both convicting and inspiring, and it is not only filled with helpful tools and charts to help the reader determine the best course action for gaining financial freedom, but it is also replete with fatherly guidance that goes far beyond mere “save up for a rainy day” quips.

While reading through this book with my wife, several discussions hit me square between the eyes. For example, while discussing in Chapter 4 the four personality types suggested by Hippocrates as they relate to finances, Bell basically recorded my own financial biography in his section “the phlegmatic and money.” I never understood how immensely my temperament and personality have affected my finances and, thus, the finances of my family. Bell has helped me become more aware of my financial shortfalls and has helped me take the necessary steps toward acting on my plans for an organized financial future, not just making plans to do so. Bell also offers a ten-step plan for financial success, and of these ten steps, I believe I need most improvement in the one labeled “work wisely” (Chapter 6).

Matt Bell’s book has proven to be an excellent guide for my wife and me, specifically now as we begin a new phase in our lives—caring for a new baby and transitioning away from a two-income to a one-income home. The principles shared in Money and Marriage will prove ultimately useful in helping us to not only maintain our current financial status, but also pave our way towards a successful financial future.

[Note: I received this book free for review from the blog-for-books program from NavPress]

©2011 E.T.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Book Review, Christian Living, Family, Money, Non-Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

