Book Review: “The Scent of Water: Grace for Every Kind of Broken” by Naomi Zacharias (2011)

This is not the kind of book that I normally enjoy reading; but then again, I am fairly certain that this book was not written with me in mind. In The Scent of Water (a phrase lifted from the book of Job), Naomi Zacharias has bound a compilation of essays developed from first-hand, real-life experience, and has graced each chapter with the wisdom and insight of one who has dedicated her life to support initiatives working to provide for at-risk women and children. She takes her readers on an intimate tour of tsunami-torn Indonesia, brothel-ridden Amsterdam, and bride-burning India. But throughout each chapter she reveals so much more than the devastation of the world and the mistreatment of women everywhere: she reveals her own story and the development of her own calling.  Zacharias shares the honesty and insight of her father as she displays her own struggles of growing up and facing both the good and evil that makes up our world. While this book does not strike a chord with me as a man, it does speak to me as a human being—as a citizen of this world replete with suffering and chaos. It shows me that despite all the troubles in this world, I was brought here to my place for a reason. God has chosen me for a purpose, and I cannot sit back and let that purpose go unattained. The Scent of Water is a book written for women, and I would never suggest otherwise. But the message that Zacharias shares is one that is fitting for all: God offers “grace for every kind of broken.”

[I received this book free for review from Zondervan Press.]

© 2011 E.T.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Book Review, Charitable Organizations, Children, Christian Living, Non-Fiction, Women. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

