Book Review: “Max on Life” by Max Lucado (2011)

I have been a fan of Max Lucado ever since college when I read He Chose the Nails, a book in which Lucado dissects Christ’s crucifixion in such a simple yet detailed manner that I have never looked at this essential event the same. More than anything else, Lucado brings a fresh perspective to God’s Word, a new way of approaching certain texts and principles that most of us would not think up on our own. And while his books could be considered a bit light on deep theology, they certainly do make a person think.

In Max on Life, readers get the opportunity to meet Max Lucado, the preacher, as he counsels many individuals on many different issues about which he has been questioned through the years. The major advantage to this book above other books of wisdom by experienced sage-like individuals is the sheer volume of issues discussed. Lucado has complied this book in the form of letters and responses, and he has broken the book down into seven major units: Hope, Hurt, Help, Him/Her, Home, Haves/Havenots, and Hereafter.

I truly enjoyed discovering Max’s take on issues with which I have struggled myself. For example, in Question 16, a reader asks, “If God knew in advance that Jesus left Heaven for a time, Jesus would be reunited with Him, and that Jesus’ death would save humanity, It doesn’t really seem like a sacrifice to me. What did God give up?” I know that I have battled my own “reason” versus reality on this issue, and Max’s answer comes closer than I have ever been able to get in positing an answer. He suggests that our inability to know just what Jesus gave up (because we have never seen Heaven, we have never been eternal, we have never been sinless, and we have never given up a child to the bloody hands of an evil people) is evidence itself that He sacrificed more than our brains could ever hold.

With 170 entries, I believe this book could prove a vital addition to anyone’s daily-devotions as a half-year devotional book. Also it could serve well as a guide for counselors who face hard-to-answer questions on a daily basis. I strongly recommend this book for anyone (believer or non-) with a voraciously inquisitive mind like Max’s.

[Note: I received this book free for review from Thomas Nelson]

© 2011 E.T.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Biblical History, Book Review, Christian Living, Counseling, Devotional, Family, Non-Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: “Max on Life” by Max Lucado (2011)

  1. Ben Umnus says:

    Sounds pretty good. I missed out on this opportunity, but I am expecting a John Maxwell in the mail soon so I’m hoping for that to be decent 🙂

Leave a Reply

