I Give Up Book Review: “MacArthur: America’s General” by Mitchell Yockelson (2011)

History fascinates me. And ever since I purchased a painting of Gen. Douglas MacArthur at a garage sale for $0.10 when I was about 14, I have also been fascinated by MacArthur. This book, then, ought to have inspired me to skip dinner and read on, but I must be frank: it did not. Yockelson’s writing style, to me, was not lively enough to hold my interest, and I therefore left off reading this book for quite some time. I cannot blame Yockelson entirely, however, because as I have noted before, I respect any author who has invested as much time as and historian must have in his pursuit of accuracy and a just portrayal of his subject. Thus, I give Yockelson props for tackling such a model character as MacArthur, and recording even his failures scars among his great triumphs and fame.

Perhaps another downfall to this book that affected my pleasure in reading it was that I elected to try the digital version, which I detested. I have since purchased a Kindle, which I love, but non-fascinating books are even less so when digital. Call me old fashioned (please), but I probably would have enjoyed Yockelson’s MacArthur more in print.

[I received this book free for review from Thomas Nelson Publishers]

©2011 E.T.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Biography, Book Review, Non-Fiction, Pleasure. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

