I Give Up Book Review: “Deception Point” by Dan Brown (2001)

Anyone who brings as much attention to the fiction world as Dan Brown did with The Da Vinci Code deserves a little of my own attention, if not for the sake of entertainment, then at least for the sake of knowing what’s going on. So I read Da Vinci in 2006, and not only did I learn what was going on regarding all the fuss, I was also thoroughly entertained. Briefly on Da Vinci, while I totally see the heresy and lunacy of this man’s fictional gospel, I do not see the wisdom in all the fuss the Christians brought to the table. Apart from causing some readers to ask questions, all the Christians accomplished in responding to the book was to give Dan Brown extra publicity for a thread of fiction he developed in his own brain, a thread he based off of many centuries of heresy. The twisted religion that views Christ as a fornicating, sin-filled man is no more plausible than L. Ron Hubbard’s own Scientology—a religion he admits he made up—and would only attract those faithless followers desperate enough to say, “Yes, I will commit myself to a religion that’s based on a novel.” A third “religion” in a similar vein might be that of the Jedi.

This being said, I will reiterate that I did find Da Vinci highly entertaining, much like I did Angels and Demons. Thus, I approached Deception Point with much the same hopes for pleasuring reading as I did those books, though I came away from the book greatly disappointed. Like the early novels of many authors (except perhaps John Grisham‘s A Time to Kill which was probably his best book), Deception was weak in story and genuineness and lacked the suspense and mystery of Brown’s later novels. What annoyed me most about the book was the obvious attempts at suspense that were more aggravating than attractive (i.e. talk of the “news that will change the world” for several chapters before actually hinting at what the news even might relate to). Rather than offering a cliff-hanger experience, these “setups” were more like annoying potholes in a long, boring stretch of highway.

While I wouldn’t have a problem suggesting Brown’s later books to any Christian with a solid head at least half-way on his shoulders, I wouldn’t recommend Deception Point really to anyone. Brown’s come a long way in his writing, so this book just wouldn’t be worth one’s time.

©2012 E.T.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Action, Book Review, Fiction, Religions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

